Mourning’s End

There’s a Light Within

Aabye-Gayle F.
4 min readApr 3, 2019
“You will not find me in the corner sitting in that hard chair, staring through the window, praying for the sun to shine on me.”

I am not where I was. This grim prison is no longer my home. Its dark walls do not hem me in. I do not suffer each day behind its bars. You will not find me in the corner sitting in that hard chair, staring through the window, praying for the sun to shine on me, to light up my life and not leave me cold and dark-hearted. I did not renew the lease. I simply couldn’t afford it. The rent asked too much of my soul. I am no longer locked in with the key just beyond my reach. I don’t remember moving out, but I dwell here no longer. You can’t keep me here. This place is not my home.

These are not my clothes. Their style and size do not fit me anymore. I can’t squeeze them on. I won’t raise their hems. I am no longer in mourning. I have lost the weight; my heart is lighter now. I will not wear weariness. I will not wrap myself in that blue-gray shroud. I can no longer endure those coarse threads. I am not comfortable putting on those somber vestments. These are not my clothes.

This is not my song. This is not my guttural cry, my plea for help, my mournful music. I no longer sing dirges. I do not note the darkness. You may sing me a sad song, but I will not conduct it. Tears may run from my eyes, but they no longer flow through my veins. I sing with an upbeat now. I move with harmony not melancholy. This is not my song. I won’t sing it.

--

--